Skip to menu Skip to content
See the new, latest Symposium website HERE! This is an archive for an old event.
30th Space Symposium
May 19-22, 2014 · Colorado Springs, Colorado USA

General James E. Hill Lifetime Space Achievement Award

The 2014 recipient of the General James E. Hill Lifetime Space Achievement Award is A. Thomas Young (pictured at right). Read more about the achievements of Young here.

The General James E. Hill Lifetime Space Achievement Award is the highest honor bestowed by the Space Foundation. It is presented annually in honor of its late, long-time chairman, retired U.S. Air Force General James E. Hill, at a special luncheon held during the Space Symposium. The award recognizes outstanding individuals who have distinguished themselves through lifetime contributions to the welfare or betterment of humankind through the exploration, development and use of space, or the use of space technology, information, themes or resources in academic, cultural, industrial or other pursuits of broad benefit to humanity. Nominations are solicited throughout the space industry worldwide, with the Space Foundation's Board of Directors selecting the honoree.

The award will be presented at a special luncheon co-sponsored by Lockheed Martin on May 21 at the 30th Space Symposium.


2014 A. Thomas Young
2013 Neil A. Armstrong and Sally K. Ride, Ph.D.
2012 Gen. Thomas S. Moorman, Jr., USAF, Ret.
2011 Charles Elachi, Ph.D.
2010 CAPT John Young, USN, Ret.
2009 The Honorable Peter B. Teets
2008 Hans Mark, Ph.D.
2007 Simon Ramo, Ph.D.
2006 Buzz Aldrin, Ph.D.
2005 The Honorable Edward C. Aldridge, Jr.
2004 Gen. Bernard A. Schriever, USAF, Ret.
2003 CAPT James A. Lovell, Jr., USN, Ret.
2002 Norman R. Augustine

Buy Meal Tickets »